University of South Africa (UNISA)


UNISA is South Africa's largest university and one of the eleven mega-distance teaching universities in the world, with over 300 000 students in 130 countries.The University was established in Cape Town in 1873 as the University of the Cape of Good Hope and changed its name to the University of South Africa in 1916. UNISA moved to Pretoria in 1918. In 1946, UNISA pioneered tertiary distance education. UNISA has played a very important role in giving access to high quality tertiary education to previously disadvantaged groups. The University has seven regional centres throughout the country.